Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility


On March 3, 2001, as part of the School’s annual Supreme Court Day Banquet, Ed Sease was named as Drake Law School’s 2001 Alumni of the Year. The Executive Committee of the Drake Law School’s Board of Counselors selected him as the sole recipient of this year’s award.A few examples of past honorees are: Governor Robert Ray, Dwight Opperman, Congressman Neal Smith, Chief Justice Louis Lavorato of the Iowa Supreme Court, and our own Donald Zarley. Ed Sease received his undergraduate degree (Phi Beta Kappa) in Chemistry from Drake University in 1967 and his law degree in 1969. In Law School he was on the Drake Law Review and graduated Order of the Coif. He passed the Iowa Bar in 1967 and the Ohio Bar in 1969 (where he was distinguished as receiving the highest score on the Ohio Bar Exam, among a total of 731 applicants). Ed practiced patent law at Procter & Gamble in Ohio for 7 years before returning to Des Moines in 1973 to join Zarley, McKee, Thomte, Voorhees & Sease, where he has had an extensive litigation practice on a national level.Ed was presented this honor by Dean Peter Gopelrud for his many years of dedication and service to Drake Law School, and his contributions to the legal community. He has taught patent, trademark, and copyright law at Drake as an Adjunct Professor since 1976 as well as coached, sponsored and funded Drake’s Intellectual Property Moot Court Team for a number of years. His 1981 team won the National Championship and his 1996 team advanced to the national finals. Ed has also served on the Drake Law School’s Alumni Board of Counselors and the Board of Governors of Drake Law School Endowment Trust.Zarley, McKee, Thomte, Voorhees & Sease congratulates Ed Sease on receiving this honor.

← Return to News & Events

Stay in Touch

Receive the latest news and updates from us and our attorneys.

Sign Up